Breaking Bad: Season 5 Episode 12: “Rabid Dog” Recap

breaking_bad 512 Rabid Dog

In “Rabid Dog”, everyone has murder and treachery on their minds, except for the morally corrupt Heisenberg.

Continue Reading for my spoiler filled thoughts and reaction to Breaking Bad Season 5 Episode 12 “Rabid Dog”.

He can’t keep getting away with it!” On a show about consequences, there has been little karmic retribution on Heisenberg up to this point. Although Walt’s cancer is back, he’s relatively unscathed considering the corpses, drugs and even airplane wreckage strewn in his reign of terror.

For some fans, the line was drawn when Walt let Jane choke to death, or poisoned an innocent child or killed Mike in cold blood. Still, I feel a lingering empathy for Walt. Not because he’s a cancer-stricken father but because of the vicarious thrill of empowerment in watching Walt get pushed to the edge only to end up on top time and again.

It’s a bit of a perverse pleasure in wanting Walt to put an end to Jesse, the moral conscience and in my view the heart of the show, because I believe that’s the final line that will break many of Walt’s die-hard sympathizers. At the same time, whatever is Jesse’s plan for the ultimate payback is something I’d also like to see come to fruition. I’m both excited and conflicted on the possible ways this could unfold.

There’s no reset button if Jesse dies at the hand of Walt. All the pain, lies and destruction Walt puts forth into the world is going to come back to haunt him with a vengeance. I don’t see an easy way out. “Karma’s a bitch” should be Jesse’s new catch phrase.

Breaking Bad is not the story of Walt’s redemption. I would feel cheated if the high-school chemistry teacher turned drug king pin / mass murderer could atone for his crimes in an act of self-sacrifice or some sort of latent epiphany. How the writers choose to end the story and where we leave these characters will be a statement in itself on what the show has been about.

Another layer to my empathy for Walt is that he truly cares for Jesse. This is evident to Hank but Jesse’s distrust, anger and fear prevents him from making that connection. If only Jesse believed Walt cared for him and put aside his distrust for just a moment they could have had their meeting.

I can’t blame Jesse though because of what Walt has done to him and is capable of. In a way, the lack of faith in others can go back to how Jesse’s parents disowned him. So instead, the plan to audio record Walt incriminating himself is averted due to Jesse’s suspicions of an ambush. Just like Jesse said, Walt is lucky and always overcomes the impossible odds.

As it turns out Walt is just about the only person in “Rabid Dog” that doesn’t have homicidal thoughts (at least not until the very end). Saul’s comical metaphor about putting down Jesse like a rabid dog may as well apply to Walt.

Walt is a virulent disease corrupting everyone he has come in contact with. As chilling as Skyler’s, “what’s one more?” murder proposal is for me the coldest and most shocking is how Hank considers Jesse as expendable.

The relationship between Hank and Jesse precariously teetered back and forth this episode, which each scene adding another dimension. When Hank was in the car with Jesse, there’s a moment where he reaches over seemingly to hug a distraught Jesse … then fastens the seat belt. One moment, Hank seems to care for Jesse, providing a warm bed, morning coffee etc. Of course this all done to clear Jesse’s head so he can give a confession on video. But realizing the words of a drug addict wouldn’t hold up in court, Hank ruthlessly sends Jesse into a possible death trap to ensnare Walt. Hank’s dirty-dealings and Marie’s thoughts of using poison show that Heisenberg-esque tactics and moral decay are rubbing off on them.

Breaking Bad 512 Rabid Dog Saxitotoxin

Briefly touching on the opening act with Walt unable to convince Junior about the fuel pump malfunction hints at what’s to come. Walt can no longer cover up his mess or obscure the truth from his family. When covering up is no longer a viable option Walt’s course of action is to douse his clothes and car seat in gasoline. Does this foreshadow the measures Walt will take when his alter ego is exposed?

Rabid Dog plays out like a series of what if scenarios which is true to life. What if Jesse set the fire before Hank crashed through the door? What if Walt returned home a second sooner and saw Hank driving off with Jesse? At the Albuquerque plaza, what if the little girl ran to her father a few moments earlier? In a way, how Breaking Bad has unfolded and may conclude comes down to these little twists of fate and butterfly type effect. Overall, even without an explosive or mind-blowing moment this is a really good episode that builds my expectations for the final four. Bring it on!

Are you Team Walt or Team Jesse? Who is the most rabid dog in this episode? What’s your ideal ending for Breaking Bad?

More Posts You Might Like:

Breaking Bad Season 5 Episode 11 “Confessions” Review

Breaking Bad Season 5 Episode 10 “Buried” Review

Breaking Bad Season 5 Episode 9 “Blood Money” Review

Breaking Bad Season 5 Episode 8 “Gliding Over All” Review

About Eddie@Jaccendo

Movies, TV shows, comics, and video game news & review.

Posted on September 4, 2013, in Breaking Bad, Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great review!

    I’m Team Jesse, always. I am fine with Walt winning actually, getting away with it somehow, as long as Jesse’s okay. But that’s probably not possible.

    The most rabid I think is Hank. I wrote a bit about this in my own review but I think his plan was terrible. Walt wanted to explain Brock which at most could’ve also included a discussion of Gus’s death but that’s it, and Walt always talks in euphemisms or business terms. I seriously doubt Hank would’ve gotten anything useful, except maybe that Walt had poisoned a kid awhile back who’s now fine. And the way he used Jesse, the only person who was telling him anything, not cool.

    I actually could see a self-sacrificing move on Walt’s part at the end because (as far as we know) he’s dying, he’s always been doing this for other people (in his own mind and rationalizations anyway) and, most of all…I think Walt, as much as he likes to think of himself as a badass Heisenberg, actually thinks of himself as “the good guy” and has this need to think that he’s never wrong in his choices. I think in a twisted sense he thinks of himself as the hero so I could see him going out doing something heroic. I’d be fine with it.

    ~EJ

    • Thanks Emilia! Jesse and Walt is my fave relationship on the show. If Jesse bites the bullet, I hope he finds some solace at the end after all he’s been through – he deserves that much. I really don’t know though, this show is violent and explosive lol.

      Yeah, Hank is becoming everything he hated about Walt. I’m quite shocked, but after last episode’s video “confession” he’s in a different mindset now. That’s a great point about Walt, you’re right, he always picks his words very carefully!

      A lot of people believe Walt will go out heroically and I could see that happening. I feel that a man sacrificing himself for what he believed is the greater good or for the benefit of others without acknowledging their sins would be a very twisted and interesting idea on the part of the writers haha. But I’d prefer Walt to go out as Heisenberg or just win it all. 🙂 Great as always discussing BrBa with you, it definitely enhances my enjoyment of the show hearing everyone else’s thoughts!

  2. Jesse has always been one of the best natured characters in the show. Which is why it would be cruel if the writers let him die. He’s the closest we have to a hero!

    As you say, everybody has murderous intentions, but I think Jesse’s intent is the least self-seeking. I can’t wait to see how this story ends…

    • That’s so true, he has a heart of gold and it’s that characteristic which makes Jesse a fan favorite. With the way things are lining up, in a face off, it would be hard pressed for Jesse to beat Walt.

      In terms of storytelling and raising the stakes, I can see why the writers put the character just about everyone loves in mortal danger (or worse … yikes!).

      Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts, good to hear from other Breaking Bad fans!

  3. I’m Team Jesse for sure. You people rooting for Walt baffle me… haha. I’m curious what Jesse’s plan could be. We are getting so close to the end. I’m not sure I’ve put myself properly into endgame mode yet. It feels like I need more time with this show than what remains.

    • I don’t watch that many TV shows, but I think Walt has to be the best character around. I’m torn between Jesse and Walt but I’m not loosing any sleep over it haha. I guess I’m rooting for what is best for the story and the impact, including emotionally and for the characters, should Jesse or Walt die. Maybe both will die? hehe. Yeah, it’s hard to believe only 4 more left and that’s it. We’ll I guess there’s the spin-off? (but it’ll be something quite different).

  4. My brother recommended I might like this blog.
    He was totally right. This post actually made my day.

    You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this
    information! Thanks!

  1. Pingback: Breaking Bad Episode 512 “Rabid Dog” | Emilia Jordan

What do you think?

