The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 6 “Live Bait” Recap

The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 6 The Governor

In The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 6, the Governor returns but he’s not the man he used to be!

Continue reading for a spoiler filled discussion of The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 6 entitled “Live Bait”.

The Governor’s Back

I’m going to very briefly touch on a few points in this episode. This post is more of a conversation starter than a detailed recap. As always, please feel free to share your thoughts and opinions in the comment section. I look forward to discussing with you further.

If there’s one lasting impression new show runner Scott Gimple has made so far in his inaugural season it’s redefining characters in a natural and compelling way. Carol’s “do whatever it takes to survive morality” breathed new life into a stagnant background character. Further, Carl’s evolution from a dark, child killer to a responsible adolescent is a welcome course correction. Next up, it’s the Governor’s turn!

“Live Bait” is a thoughtfully constructed character piece that humanizes the Governor in ways that I think were needed for his on-going presence on the show. A character consumed only by hate and revenge wouldn’t make for a engaging story to be watched for an entire season. I’ve always thought of the Governor as more than a monster being evil for the sake of evil, but I can see how some fans think his portrayal in Season 3 as lacking nuance and complexity.

I try to stay away from producer/cast interviews and Walking Dead related articles so had no idea this week was going to be a standalone flashback episode on the Governor. For fans who have little interest in the Governor, this episode will test their patience on finding out what happens when Rick reveals to the group he banished Carol. Since I’m fascinated by the Governor, I appreciated the episode taking it’s time to flesh out a character into something more than an one-note villain.

I’ll be updating this post later this week with specific thoughts on the Governor’s surrogate family and what it really means to him. I’m posting this now because I want to hear what you thought of this episode.

What did you like and didn’t like in this episode? Does this episode change your thoughts about the Governor?

More Posts You Might Like:

The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 5 “Internment” Recap

The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 4 “Indifference” Recap

The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 3 “Isolation” Recap

About Eddie@Jaccendo

Movies, TV shows, comics, and video game news & review.

Posted on November 18, 2013, in Television, The Walking Dead and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I quite liked this episode, nice bit of change with a more intimate story, and about the Governor of all people 😀

    I do hope they don’t drag this story, because if there is one thing this shows writers can do its drag a story out. He learned to love again and then he loses it all over again crushing him and making him the truly monsterous villain from the comic 😀

    • I’m glad to hear you liked this episode too! I was thinking some people wouldn’t be into a Governor only episode since many wanted him dead last season.

      It would be sad if they built up the Governor only to crush him and turn him into a monster. So far I’m okay with the pace of the season but I’ve heard a number of fans wanting more things to happen quickly.

      • It was good, I liked the intimate story away from the prison, I just don’t like the prison essentially 😀

        They can’t make him a good guy though. That would be bullshit and so boring!

        CRUSH HIM!!! (emotionally)

        This show needs its monster, its villain, its protagonist. Because the flu should not be the protagonist of a Zombie apocalypse show haha 😀

        • Do you think it’s because of budget reasons they are staying at the prison so long? On the Season 3 DVD they mentioned it took 5-6 months to build and convert their studios into the prison set.

          I like how Carol can do some pretty horrific things yet I can see her point of view. As for the Governor he’ll still be the guy that’ll rip out throats with his bare hands and like Carol will do whatever it takes to survive though it’ll come from a place of protecting those he cares about. He has something to live for now which makes him a huge danger. Haha, they’ll probably crush him towards the latter half of the season.

          • I do get that, spend a couple of mil on a Prison setting only to destroy it after 1 season is a big ask. Still sooner or later that place will burn to the ground and they better make it good 😀

            Love that Zombie kill! Governor ripping out throats 😀

  2. I’m not into zombie flicks but I do like Andrew Lincoln and David Morrissey, boy there are tons of Brits in US TV, ahah, not that I’m complaining!

    Btw, I saw that you have Almost Human banner on your sidebar. I REALLY enjoyed the 2-part pilot, I think I’ll be watching that one instead of Agents of SHIELD now.

    • It’s a zombie show though in a lot ways it’s not really about the zombies. “The Walking Dead” refers to the survivors which is the focus of the series. As an example, a recent episode focuses on a character regaining their humanity and learning to value the idea of family. While another storyline is concerned with differences in moral judgement where neither side is objectively right or wrong. Actors Andrew Lincoln and David Morrissey are given some great material to work with and their passion for their characters comes across on-screen. Go Brits! haha:)

      I still have to catch up on Almost Human, glad to hear you enjoyed the two parter. I’ll keep watching AOS but I don’t know if I’ll be able to review each episode. 🙂

  3. Hello there. 🙂

    So.. Turned out that this week’s episode of TWD was all about Snake Plisken !!
    Anyway, now everybody knows that Brian definitiley is in the kitchen. We also
    learned that when the whole world is screwed, one rule stands : SPAGHETTIS ARE
    TUESDAY ONLY. If not, just throw ’em through the window. But there is more important
    talking points like “Hell !! Why does the Governor dodges random zombies but crushes
    the old man skull in front of his daughters like he had an adrenalin shot ??”, Seriously ?

    Forget about that, the fact is : Wherever you try to go, you always come back to the pit.
    Poor little girl.. Step 1: she sees her beloved grandpa being crushed, step 2: she hears
    the Governor having some good time at the back of the truck, step 3: she’s in front row
    of an MMA free fight ending with the Governor going halves with a voiceless zombie..
    Yeah.. Brian is trying very hard to rehabilitate himself. Very hard.

    I think this episode should have been titled “LOST”. Lot of flashbacks/flashforwards there.
    What I understood is that Governor ends up thinking in front of the burning female zombie.
    So we already know that all is lost at this time for him because at some point he turns back
    to the prison as we saw him like waiting in front of a school with pockets full of candys.. err..

    I loved the picture and once again, director of photography did an amazing job. Not fond of
    the music background as it takes off a bit of the reality part of the show. Come on it’s
    apocalypse, are there really that much country musicians playing at each street corner ?

    To conclude, I would like to say that the opening scenes were awesome. Loved the bearded
    Governor, he definitely looked like Mel Gibson as Snake Plissken. Bad ass. But I think they
    may have rushed a little the Governor return. But I understand that some fans wanted that.

    I think next week episode is gonna be about the Gov fighting Martinez at some point, loosing
    his ties with the girls and walking the line to New-Folsom prison. I’m curious to see what does
    show directors wants the mid-season cliffhanger to be, and we might have a clue very soon
    since next episode is last but one before the break.

    • Hello there!

      “Turned out that this week’s episode of TWD was all about Snake Plisken !!”

      – Haha, I was thinking the same thing too and they mentioned it on The Talking Dead. It’s the hair and eye patch!

      “SPAGHETTIS ARE TUESDAY ONLY. If not, just throw ‘em through the window.”

      – What a waste of food. He also threw his family photo out the same window.

      “Why does the Governor dodges random zombies but crushes the old man skull in front of his daughters like he had an adrenalin shot ??”

      – The way that I saw it is in the beginning he basically lost his will to live and just barely dodged the zombie out of reflex. By the time the old man died, he started to feel protective of his house mates and little girl.

      “the Governor having some good time at the back of the truck”

      – Haha, I couldn’t believe they did that with the little girl sleeping in front of them!

      “I think this episode should have been titled “LOST”. Lot of flashbacks/flashforwards there.”

      – I’m a fan of Lost and enjoyed the Governor flashback. I can’t wait to see what happens next at the prison.

      “I loved the picture and once again, director of photography did an amazing job.”

      – the shot of The Gov in front of the burning building is cool. I also loved the bone in the zombie mouth, then taking off it’s head!

      – I was expecting the Gov to return in the 2nd half but if they have a great story arc planned then I’m all for bringing him back now.

      – I also think he’ll be conflict with Martinez next episode. I hope his girl and new girlfriend stick around for a while

      – I’m not sure what the mid-season cliffhanger will be. At first I was leaning towards the group leaving the prison but based on the pace of the show I don’t really know. 🙂

      • Thank you for answers!

        Remember last year when I said to my friend that The Governor is such a psycho that even zombies learnt to use sidewalk ? I had a lot of laugh when The Governor actually dodged a zombie and sent him to the sidewalk in this week episode !! ^^

        And of course, KOTW award goes to the “have a break, have a kit kat” zombie who got split in two by the Gov.

        • My memory isn’t what it used to be but I loved the way Governor dodged that zombie too!

          That’s my KOTW too! Haha kit kat zombie! Just when I think they are running out of inventive ways to kill a zombie … bam! 🙂

  4. Been behind on this show, but just caught up. I thought this was a pretty interesting episode. I liked it solely focusing on The Governor because we hadn’t seen him all season and this let us catch up on the time he spent in between. I admit I had a hard time adjusting to the show’s version of the Governor last year, but now that I have more accepted some of the changes from the comic (I felt like the show has made him more of a grey character maybe not much but more grey whereas he was jet black so to speak in the book if that makes sense), I think I’ll be able to enjoy him on this season of the show. This just felt like a fascinating look into a character for me this week and I liked it.

  5. I recently started reading the comics so I didn’t have expectations as to who the Governor should be. I was hesitant to read the comics because I didn’t want it to ruin my experience of the show but I’m trying to think of them as two separate entities. Game of Thrones is a different case, I couldn’t resist not reading the books.

    One of the reasons why I liked this episode is that the Governor is a fascinating character. I appreciated they added more layers to him which is cool considering he massacred a whole bunch of people last time we saw him. 🙂 Glad to hear your caught up on the show and hopefully you can enjoy the Gov this season! Cheers!

  6. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!

    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road.

    All the best

What do you think?

