Fall TV Preview: New and Returning Shows We Are Excited For

 Which Television Shows Will You Be Watching This Fall?

The Fall TV season is already under way. As usual, there’s a glut of shows to cut a swath through. Because there’s way too many shows to humanly keep up with, I’ll have to be ultra selective. I’m going to breakdown the new and returning shows into a few different categories.

The first category is the returning shows I plan on watching, these lean towards comic book based and sci-fi dramas. The second category is returning shows that are on the bubble, meaning I haven’t completely given up on them but they are in danger of being dropped if they don’t hook me in quickly or I might check them out when the whole season is out on home video/streaming services.  And then I’ll peer into the crystal ball to try to pick out the best new Fall shows I might be interested in.


Returning Shows I Plan On Watching

Arrow (The CW, Wednesday 8 p.m.) – Premieres Oct 7
Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (ABC, Tuesday 9 p.m.) 
– Premieres Sep 29
Continuum (Syfy, Friday 11 p.m.) – Premieres Sep 11
Fargo (FX, Monday 10 p.m.) – Premieres Oct 12
The Flash (The CW, Tuesday 8 p.m.) – Premieres Oct 6
iZombie (The CW, Tuesday 9 p.m.) 
– Premieres Oct 6
The Walking Dead (AMC, Sunday 9 p.m.) – Premieres Oct 11
The X-Files (Fox, Monday 8 p.m.) – Premieres Jan 24 at 7 p.m.**

These are the shows I plan on keeping up with as they air.  I like to keep the number of shows down to a manageable list. Both Continuum and The X-Files revival are six episodes apiece so they won’t take up too much time.

I have a hopeful feeling that Arrow can fix many problems which were painfully evident last season.  The Flash hit the ground running, overtaking Arrow in terms of the fun factor and just about every facet. Let’s cross our fingers there’s still a lot of juice left in The Flash’s tank as the show heads into the multiverse.  

If you made a check list of what Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. needed to do in Season 2 they pretty much nailed it.  Season 3 looks to be promising, not bad for a show whom many wrote off in the first season. When I like a show, you’d assume I’d want more of it, but in the case of iZombie I think 13 episodes per season is perfect. There’s a risk of stretching things out too long and makes it harder to maintain the quality over a full 22 episode order.

I’ve stayed away from news/rumours on The Walking Dead’s Season 6. I haven’t watched the trailer yet either, mainly because I want things to be a surprise as much as possible. I LOVED Fargo Season 1; I believe actor Patrick Wilson when he says Season 2 will be epic.

gotham joker season 2 promos

Returning Shows On The Bubble: 

Gotham (Fox, Monday 8 p.m.) – Premieres Sep 21
American Horror Story: Hotel (FX, Wednesday 10 p.m.)
– Premieres Oct 7
The Originals (The CW, Thursday 9 p.m.) – Premieres Oct 8
The Vampire Diaries (The CW, Thursday 8 p.m.) – Premieres Oct 8
The Leftovers (HBO, Sunday 9 p.m.)
– Premieres Oct 4
Sleepy Hollow (Fox, Thursday 9 p.m.) – Premieres Oct 1
Z Nation (Syfy, Friday 10 p.m.)Premieres Sep 11

Gotham’s Season 1 approach of throwing everything against the wall and seeing what’s sticks didn’t work for me although I managed to hang in there (phew!). I hope the serialized approach to Season 2 will give Gotham more cohesion and a stronger reason to tune in each episode.

After watching the premiere to AHS: Freakshow I didn’t have any interest to continue with the rest of the season. However each new season of AHS is its own story. I’m curious about Hotel’s new cast members and I like the idea of going back to the horror vibe of Murder House.

I wouldn’t call Z Nation a guilty pleasure, it’s more of a frivolous filler that I’ll probably watch when it hits streaming services. I’ve seen the scores of the first two episodes of Season 2 so far on other sites and they aren’t bad at all.

Most of the other shows that are on the bubble list I fell behind and never caught up. The Vampires Diaries’ bubble burst for me in the middle of season 5. Even though I know the quality isn’t what it used to be I’m considering catching up some time. I think the show is on its last legs, especially now that series star Nina Dobrev jumped ship.

I find it kind of peculiar that Sleepy Hollow Season 3 is going a lighter direction as if that’s the answer to the show’s problem. I think one of the issues is that as the story moves forward we got answers on the Headless Horseman but in doing so, lost the mystery, allure and suspense.

Marvel's jessica jones on netflix review

New Fall Shows On My Radar: 

Heroes Reborn (NBC, Thursday 8 p.m.) – Premieres Sep 24
Supergirl (CBS, Monday 8 p.m.)
– Premieres Oct 26 @ 8:30 p.m.**
Into the Badlands (AMC, Sunday 10 p.m.) – Premieres Nov 15
The Man in the High Castle (Amazon Prime) – Streaming Nov 20
The Expanse (Syfy, Monday 10 p.m.)
– Premieres Dec 14
Blindspot (NBC, Monday 10 p.m.) – Premieres Sep 21
Jessica Jones  (Netflix) – All Episodes Nov 20

The thing about new shows is that I already have a hard enough time keeping up with the returning shows I plan to follow. But every now and again, a new show like Mr. Robot comes along that lives up to the hype so I try to keep an eye on what’s coming. My general plan is to see what new shows gets positive word of mouth and read the pilot reviews. I’ll also give some new shows an episode or two to win me over. 

I heard the two-part premiere of Heroes Reborn is everything we liked and didn’t like about the original show. So I’m cautiously skeptical about it.  I’m still on the fence if I’ll check out this 13 episode mini-series.

I’m glad to see that Jamie Alexander (Lady Sif) is starring in a brand new series titled Blindspot. She stars as a Jane Doe who wakes up with mysterious tattoos on her body. The premise sounds intriguing enough. 

Since I don’t usually follow procedurals, Minority Report isn’t on my radar although I like the idea of the precog/sci-fi slant to it. The other new series that’s also based on a Phillip K. Dick story is The Man in the High Castle, about a dystopian alternate history after WWII, which is getting a lot of early buzz.

Supergirl looks mildly entertaining enough to attract a wide demographic. Since it comes from the same creators as The Flash & Arrow, who know a thing or two about producing a superhero show, Supergirl should hopefully get off the ground and flying in no time.

The reality is that most new shows won’t be around for a second season. The closest to a sure bet is Jessica Jones, a former superhero turned private detective. Being part of the Marvel Universe won’t hurt, actually it’ll help even if the story is mostly self-contained. 

Into The Badlands could be very badass. It’s described as a genre bending martial arts series. Look for 6 hour-long episodes on AMC starting this November. The early feedback on The Expanse is that while it’s no Battlestar Galactica, this conspiracy space opera set in a fully colonized solar system is going to be stellar. 

The good news is that since there’s so many television shows, chances are there will be something for everyone. Which new and returning fall shows are you most excited about? Do you plan on dropping any shows from your watchlist?

Note: Dates & Times are subject to change. ** Special Premiere Date & Time

BRAND NEW TV TALK TUESDAYS

About Eddie@Jaccendo

Movies, TV shows, comics, and video game news & review.

Posted on September 22, 2015, in Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I am most excited for iZombie, Fargo and most especially The X-Files among returning shows. The crop of new shows looks pretty weak to me this Fall. I’m excited for The Man in the High Castle. I really liked the pilot even if the book is pretty meh to me. After that I’m not sure. Maybe The Last Kingdom? I like those type of period shows. I have tried a handful of new pilots in the past week and didn’t think a whole lot of any of them except Scream Queens which is really silly, but was still a lot of fun. Even so seems like an acquired taste. I will watch Heroes, but I can’t say I’m excited about it. Hard enough to try and keep up with the shows I watch already, so if not many new ones hit I won’t mind. Great post! I am enjoying TV Talk Tuesdays!

    • I heard the same thing about this Fall’s new crop of shows, which may not be such a bad thing with all these returning shows I hope to keep up with. I haven’t gotten around to watching any new pilots yet. Good to hear you liked Man in the High Castle pilot, I haven’t read the book myself. Scream Queens might be something I catch up on home video if there’s lots of great reviews but it’s probably out of my wheelhouse. Heroes wasn’t exactly a show I was hoping to be revived, but I did like that first season a lot. Glad you’re enjoying TV Talk Tuesdays and I’m hoping for more great stuff from iZombie, Fargo and X-Files! Appreciate you taking the time to comment as always.

  2. I’m all about The X-Files, Heroes Reborn, and S.H.I.E.L.D. The X-files, well, no need to explain that; Heroes because I’m so hoping it’s as good as the first season was, and Agents because holy amazing 2nd season – those that dropped off don’t know what they are missing.
    I’ll watch Vamp Diaries as well but can’t imagine it lasting another season since it’s been spiraling for about the last three now. Loving The Originals, and The Walking Dead.
    I watched the first episode of Blindspot and think it has potential. I haven’t heard of Into the Badlands, but sounds like it’ll be worth an initial viewing.
    The Flash ended well and would be great if they could keep that momentum going for the 2nd season. AHS – all seasons since the first have been relative let downs for me and i didn’t even watch the whole season of the last one. Will give it a try and hope it captures the creepy, scary, goodness of Murder House.
    There’s probably at least five other shows I’ll watch. Being a t.v. junkie is almost impossible to kick 🙂 – The Last Kingdom on BBCA, Grimm, Legends, Da Vinci’s Demons, Sleepy Hollow, Reign… What else, oh yeah, if I ever get around to signing up to NetFlix my life will be over 🙂
    TV Talk Tuesdays – loving it!

    • Isn’t it cool that X-files is coming back and with the original cast?! I heard Duchovny cried when he read the first script. Heroes was a fun show for a while, then it really lost me. That first season was super enjoyable, if Reborn is on that level it should be worth returning to (but I’m kind of skeptical 😦 )

      Ohh, Agents was soo good last season and I thought the finale was awesome! Can’t wait to see what’s up with Simmons and the rest of the gang. I caught up on the Originals season 1 earlier this year and enjoyed it. I heard season 2 was really good too, but I’m so far behind.

      With the better stunts and effects that can be done on TV budget nowadays, Into the Badlands could be pretty awesome. I could always use a good action focused show.

      That first season of The Flash set the bar pretty high. With that crazy finale, it should open up a ton of new story ideas and even characters. Should be fun stuff and I’m guessing a wild ride if the writers are on point.

      I only watched that first episode of AHS Freakshow and it was so painful to get through. I was surprised it got so many Emmy nominations but it was categorized as a limited series so I guess it didn’t have to compete with the “good” shows haha.

      Oh wow, that’s a solid line up of shows you got going on. I don’t think I’ve heard of Legends before but that cast line up looks pretty good. Haha, Netflix got some good stuff … Orange is the Black and Daredevil are top notch. I just started on Narcos … Great to hear you’re loving TV talk Tuesdays! I should do a follow up post on Falls shows later down the line and get your feedback on what’s been good and what’s not!

  3. Great write up! I am very excited about Arrow, Flash and Doctor Who returning. I’m behind on watching Agents of SHIELD but I’m glad to hear it’s still worth tuning into. Thanks for reminding me about the new Marvel Netflix show as well!

    • Thanks a lot! I also plan on watching Arrow, Flash and Doctor Who … good picks! Season 2 of SHIELD is worth it, I think you will like it. Hope you like Marvel’s Jessica Jones too, I have good feeling about that one! 😀

  4. Dude, every time thinking about writing a certain type of blog post, you beat me to it. I swear there’s a conspiracy afoot! 😛 But seriously great post, very comprehensive and since you’ve covered a lot of the stuff I want to watch or will continue to watch, that gives us things to talk about not only here but in the future too. 😀

    Since there’s a lot to get through I’m just gonna go section by section and try not to go on for too long haha.

    Firstly Returning Shows: I hope Arrow’s 4th season is good, season 3 was alright but really missed the mark and the qualities that made the previous seasons so fun to watch. Btw, Diggle’s helmet, I hate it, that thing needs to be destroyed. The Flash, I’m ready, gimme. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., you know how I feel about that already, I just hope that it doesn’t lse its momentum and conintues its upswing in quality. And iZombie’s first season was surprisingly good and much better than I expected and you’re right, the 13 episode season length is perfect and more shows should take advantage of that. As for The Walking Dead I’ve seen the main trailer but having seen much else, I want to see things as they come. And Fargo, I still haven’t seen season 1 and I was meant to see that AGES ago, maybe I’ll see it before the year’s out, maybe haha.

    Secondly Bubble Returning Shows: Gotham, I want to believe that it’ll get better but some oft he stuff I’ve seen in the trailers doesn’t shake my nervousness for some ofthe stories and acting from some of the cast, guess we’ll have to wait and see. I saw the majority of AHS: Freakshow and it was the first of the series I’d seen and it was super weird and unnatural, but pretty interesting to watch. I’ll be curious to see what this new season brings. Z Nation still hasn’t finished its first season on TV over here, but when it does I’ll be on season 2 asap just to see what kind of madness this show will good up, its no essential TV, but I find there’s an odd attraction to it. Sleepy Hollow is a show I should have watched from the beginning, but I sort of saw it whenever my mum and sister were watching during my days back from uni, but I’m not sure if I can be arsed to watch it from the beginning though.

    Thirdly New Fall Shows: Heroes Reborn is a show I don’t necessarily need, but I’m SO curious to see what they’ve cooked up and see whether my interest in this world is still there or not. Blindspot has Jaimie Alexander and an interesting premise, I’m all in, I should see the first episode by the end of this week. Supergirl looks cool, but the “girl power” apporach is really keeping me at a distance, if its consistently good then I’ll get on this hype train. Jessica Jones, out of all of the Marvel properties, this is the one I have the least amount of knowledge and experience with, so I’ll be curious to see how it turns out, but I’m hoping for something in line with Daredevil’s style and tone. Into The Badlands I heard the description about it and I put it on my watchlist immediately haha.

    As for me personally I’m looking forward to season 8 of Castle, more foolishness in South Park’s 19th season (which I’m liking so far) and Moonbeam City.

    Well that was certainly a mouthfull, hopefully we’ll get to talk about some of these shows at some point and I’ll be sure to talk to you about Gotham when I’ve seen the latest episode. 🙂

    • Haha, I think that just means we’re on the same wavelength. I’m always down for a team up post with you if you’re ever interested, we can post at the same time. 🙂 It was fun talking about shows in this post that I don’t normally get a chance to.

      When I first saw Diggle’s helmet, I thought it was a fan photoshop pic lol. I have it in my head, that it’s just a joke the Arrow Team is playing on him. They’re telling him he looks great in it, but laughing behind his back. (At least that would be funnier, since I can’t take him serious in that helmet haha). I like the on-going story arc on iZombie, so I’m worried if it gets a 22 episode order they’ll be a lot of case of the week/procedural filler which others might like but I’m not that into. The first season was really good. If you can, Fargo Season 1 is worth watching. Each season will focus on a different story.

      When you catch up on Gotham I’d be curious what you think. The tone is still campy in places, especially with the villains, but I’ve learned to go with it. I think you will like the first season of AHS which is connected to the new season. When The Walking Dead’s season was over, I filled it up with Z Nation, it’s a fun diversion. Sleepy Hollow could be a fun show to watch with the family, but I lost interest in Season 2.

      Maybe I’ll give the premiere to Heroes Reborn a try, I don’t know, I can’t seem to get excited enough for it. If you watch it, let me know what you think of it. I’ve seen the Supergirl pilot already, I liked it. There is one talk heavy scene that may come across as about girl power, but I think it’s more about justifying the name Supergirl. This version of Kara is actually a bit of an underdog nerdy girl. I don’t really know much about JJ either. I’m guessing it won’t be as dark as DD but they will eventually crossover.

      I’m glad that Nathan Fillion is making lots of money on his successful show Castle. I don’t follow it though. Cool to know the other stuff that you’re watching and looking forward to! Cheers!

      • As always talking to you is so delightful and insightful. And ooooo a team up post? Man that sounds cool, I’d have to discuss this matter with you further to find a topic and time to put this together. 😛

        That’d be hilarious if the crew in Arrow were just taking the piss out of him behind his back haha. I really hope that the episode format doesn’t change, I like the way the show is now. By the way I’ve heard a lot of talk that the show won’t be coming back til 2016, but I’m still seeing October 6th 2015 release date, has something changed or am I crazy? As for Gotham I’ve seen the first episode and I thought it was pretty interesting, I’d like for you see my thoughts on my latest “What I’m Watching” post. Oh and Heroes Reborn, its certainly interesting and familiar, however a lot of the problems with the show before are still present, but I’d like to see your thoughts on it at some point. I just hope Supergirl is like The Flash in terms of its tone, characters and action.

        I reckon you might like Castle, its one of my favourite shows in the cop drama genre because it isn’t always conventional and is really funny.

        • Hmm, iZombie Season 2 should be returning Oct 6/15 on CW in the US. But in the UK it could be a different story, not sure what channel it’s on there. I”ll be sure to check out your post. I haven’t watched Heroes Reborn yet, I wish there was more positive buzz to give me a reason to invest time in it. The action is pretty good in Supergirl, but making the pilot they usually have more time and budget so I don’t know if the regular episodes will be as good. That’s cool that Castle has humour, Nathan Fillion can do both drama and comedy, he’s got skillz. Yeah, I’m down for a team up post whenever we find the time if you’re interested. 🙂

  5. So much to keep up with, we are really spoilt these days – I’m personally looking forward to AoS, Arrow, the Flash, Gotham, Jessica Jones and Legends of Tomorrow.

    Love Doctor Who as well, last week’s premiere was pretty awesome!

    • It’s a great time to be a fan of comic book based TV shows and movies. If all goes well, I plan on following the same shows as you are. 🙂

      Doctor Who S9 started off really strong, looking forward to the next ep!

  6. The X Files!!! That’s the only one I want to see 🙂

What do you think?

