Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 3, Episode 1 “Laws of Nature” Review

agents of shield season 3 cast photo

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3 Premiere Recap (Full Spoilers Ahead)

The best way I can describe the Season 3 premiere of Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is that it satisfied my comic book TV craving that had been building up during the off-season and whet my appetite for the possibilities to come. 

The premiere did a good job of finding the balance between setting up a number of story arcs and picking up on a couple of big cliffhangers from last season’s brilliant finale.

Between the rise of the Inhumans, the Kree monolith, Simmon’s fate, and introducing new characters & new threats, the premiere covered a lot of ground. Let’s discuss what happened!

Joey and the Great Glass Elevator

The cold open started off by throwing us into a fairly tense action sequence, although the special effects have some room for improvement. Introducing us to Joey is a plot device which served a number of purposes. Without too much exposition, it confirmed that the fish oil supplements are triggering the Inhuman gene. Through Joey’s perspective, it also served as a refresher on what an Inhuman is to the audience.

And in what will be one of the ongoing arcs is that Joey is likely the initial recruit to the Secret Warriors, a group of super powered Agents. Yup, super powers. This goes against the initial premise of the series back in Season 1, but let’s face it. The show is a lot of more interesting and self-sustainable if it can build its own world of super agents and super villains without having to reference the MCU constantly.

agents of shield season 3 daisy quake sky hot

Welcome Back Skye, er I mean Daisy (or Quake)

In a few scenes Joey came across as a sympathetic character. He fills the role that Daisy used to be; the newcomer to the crew and since everything needs to be explained to him he functions sort of like an audience surrogate. Most of the explaining is done by Daisy.

Daisy is the centerpiece of the show, arguably even more than Coulson. She can cross over and bridge the gap between the Inhumans and S.H.I.E.L.D. story lines. She has a spiffy new haircut and going by a new name (her original name that is) which indicative of the viewer of having to accept her for who she is now, even if you still can’t completely buy into her as a super powered agent.

Since the “good guys” have superpowers, the new villains introduced are going to have be more than a match. The creature that Daisy and Lincoln battled at the hospital was a nasty piece of work (i.e. freaky looking). Lincoln as a doctor looked like a scene out of a soap opera which then morphed into a very comic-booky fight with the monster. It should be interesting to find out this villain’s motivation for putting fist sized holes into Inhumans.

M.I.A. 

This premiere can be defined to a certain degree by those agents Missing In Action. I couldn’t help but feel the absence of May, Ward and Simmons (until the end) but appreciated that the writers streamlined the episode. There’s a whole season to catch up with those characters in a more in-depth way, so I didn’t need them to drop in if they didn’t have anything significant to do.

On the other hand, Coulson got some significant scenes. He’s seems more like his old self from Season 1 or is it just me? When Coulson and Hunter got ambushed in the subway train, I appreciated that their escape was pretty straightforward. I thought they’d come up with something super elaborate but I liked that it was simply Coulson’s missing arm, which I forgot about, that gave them the upper hand (enough with the puns!). 

One of the reasons for not including all the agents was to give screen time for the new characters. Rosalind Price walks a fine line between someone who could either be good or evil, maybe she swings both ways. It’s likely that Rosalind and her faction have their own agenda which will put them at odds with S.H.I.E.L.D. through out the season even if they aren’t the ones killing the Inhumans. I trust that the writers have a very different dynamic planned than last season’s SHIELD vs Real SHIELD. Coulson and Rosalind played off of each other very well and more scenes between them would be fun.

agents of shield season 3 daisy recruits secret warrior

Fitz Versus the Monolith 

I liked that Bobbi Morse is still recovering from last season’s finale.  It was a little unusual seeing her in the lab, instead of out in the field kicking ass. This gives Hunter even more reasons to get revenge on Ward which should be fun to see play out. Another thing is that last I heard, a pilot for a Mockingbird spin-off show was ordered and will likely be shot in 2016, but it has not been confirmed it will go to series.

Another character who’s changed is Fitz. This is a pretty cool episode for him, considering in Season 1 he was an indoor lab geek and Season 2 he was coping with his disability. This is a very different Fitz but one that feels like a culmination of everything he’s gone through. He didn’t beat up those guys in Morocco, he outsmarted them which is exactly what Fitz would do. His emotional outburst at the end took me aback. I really liked that the episode ended (before the pre-credit scene) on this gut wrenching image of Fitz banging on the monolith. Characters in pain make for good TV, it’s in the Joss Whedon handbook for writers. I looked it up. Really.

Ahh Simmons! I’m glad that we didn’t have to wait another episode to find out what happened to her. Of the theories /speculation on Simmons after getting swallowed up, travelling to an alien planet wasn’t one of them. I’m excited for this direction and wonder how all this is going to tie back into the season’s story arc.

“Laws of Nature” is solid, purposeful episode to kick off Season 3. It’s a good decision to focus on a core bunch of characters rather than spreading themselves too thin trying to give all the agents screen time. Agent Fitz benefited the most, getting meaningful development and showing a raw, emotional side to him. In terms of the bigger picture, this episode paves the way for more Inhuman and Secret Warriors story lines to come. 

What did you like or dislike about this episode? Where do you think Simmons is?

About Eddie@Jaccendo

Movies, TV shows, comics, and video game news & review.

Posted on September 29, 2015, in Comics, Marvel's Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D., Television, TV Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I really need to start catching up on this show!

  2. I really liked it, strong start and the Inhumans story is great for show.

  3. Very happy this show is back on! I think they still have a problem with the sets being a bit static – in the plane, in the lab, etc.. Fitz being in Morocco was a great way to show how the show can improve when it explores areas outside the norm. A show with secret agents and super heroes/villains needs to look more dynamic.
    Good point about how the show will be more sustainable making it’s own world of heroes/villains. Having to rely on the movies makes for a disjointed story line so good they seem to be taking this approach.

    I can’t believe I now like Daisy. Her character has greatly improved from season one and she is now far more interesting. Her progress was a rocky road since she changed in big steps rather than a slow progression, but she’s much more likable and she fits well with the team. Agree that Lincoln was a bad soap opera looking doc, could have done better with that. Hopefully Daisy and Lincoln’s powers will be better displayed in future episode since just sticking their arms out is boring to look at. What was that big green spiky dude? Was he an affected human, an alien that was awoken, etc.?

    Fitz rocks. I think his development has been spot on (though they seemed to have dismissed his brain injury a bit). Fitz has been a favorite of mine from the start and keeping him true to his character while becoming a better agent is excellent work by the writers.
    I too think that Coulson is more like his old self, which is good to see.

    Looking forward to how they will get Simmons out of her alien planet, and the eventual inclusion of Ward, and hopefully May, are interesting arcs to come. It’s hard to believe this show was so rocky during the first half of season one. But I should know better than to doubt the plans for the MCU. They’ve done an impressive job with just about everything so far. Not sure what I think about the Mockingbird spin-off. Bobbi’s a good aspect of the team and diluting the team makes me wary. Great recap!

    • Glad AOS is back! I kept checking the clock to when the premiere would start lol. The show could do more to improve the look and locations. The Morocco location was good and Simmon’s planet should be interesting. I think last season didn’t integrate with Age of Ultron that much and I’m okay with that because the show was already interesting on it’s own.

      Great to hear you’re on board with Daisy. I think the show runners made the right decision to drop certain things about her (eg. hacking) and quickly shape her into Agent material. I was thinking the same thing too about Daisy and Lincoln powers were just sticking their arms out. Hope they find more inventive use of their powers. Like The Flash runs really fast but each episode they find a new way to use his power. I heard the spikey dude is named Lash, but I don’t know anything more about him.

      I also noticed that when Fitz talked non-stop in long sentences, they glossed over his brain injury. The writers did a good job of building up the Fitz and Simmons relationship, I liked seeing him do everything in his power to find/save her.

      I think last season Simmons started off away from the team too. For now, I like seeing her surviving on her own skills. I’m guessing someone will find a way to control the monolith.

      I’m not that excited for the Mockingbird spin-off because, like you said, Bobbi is a good part of the current team chemistry. If it’s like a 6 – 8 episode mini-series during AOS mid season break, where she’ll come back to the main show then maybe that’ll work better. I’m interested in what May and Ward are up to, hope we see them soon. Thanks!

  4. Hey dude! Looks like we’re back on this hype again. I wasn’t sure if you were gonna be doing episode review for SHIELD, but I knew you’d do something. Looks like we’ll be having plenty of conversations between now and Christmas with the amount of TV shows that’ll be out and we’ll be reviewing individually.

    I thought this episode was awesome, it really hit the ground running, presented so much cool new things and kept the ties to the last season brief and useful. One thing I forgot to mention in my review is how AoS is finally feeling more like a superhero show by embracing the superpowered individuals and more comic book-y kind of elements.

    So as usual I’ll cover the stuff in your review section by section. Firstly there’s Joey, I liked his powers and the situation he was in, adjusting to his new powers and realising that the life that he knew was pretty much over after he had that conversation with Daisy and Mack and saw that footage on TV. As for being one of the early members of the Secret Warriors, I never thought about that, however I guess that makes sense.

    As for Daisy, I agree with a lot of you points. She is more of a main character than Coulson is and because of her history with Inhumans and being one, it is only natural that she be the one to explain what the deal is to newbies since Lincoln isn’t around. I love her new look and confidence, she’s hella hotness (sorry had to be said). Oh and Lash, that massive monster in the hospital, he was cool. I’ve seen a lot of Sonic the Hedgehog jokes online in comment sections and I loved it haha.

    Oh and good call on applying the MIA to more than just Simmons, but also May and Ward. With May gone I really noticed it, but wasn’t that bothered that she wasn’t around due to all the good stuff we got. The same rule applies with Ward, if he had made an appearance I feel like it would have felt shoe-horned. Oh and Simmons, Jesus Christ Simmons! When I saw that scene towards the end I felt feelings of fear and excitement!

    And yeah Coulson definitely feels more in line with season 1, he’s got more quips, he’s more relaxed and just seems cooler. I think he worked his way back to this state of mind in season 2, especially in that episode when he team up with Ward. I wish they’re given Coulson a proper robotic hand, I mean he’s part of SHIELD, are you telling me they wouldn’t be able to craft him a new fully-functional hand like Luke Skywalker got in Star Wars? Constance Zimmer was great as Rosalind Price, I thought her organisation were out to kill Inhumans,but it seems like that may not bethe case considering what Lash was able to do in the hospital. I hope she’s around to stay. I love the chemistry between her and Coulson it was quite witty and fun.

    Oh but Fitz, that dude had the best material in this episode. This guy, he’s such a courageous and wonderful man, and any woman or friend should feel luckily to have him considering the lengths he’s going to help Simmons. I loved how he went to Morocco chasing a lead on a small thing that could or couldn’t help him get his friend back. He was taken by men to a questionable to get what he needed, and even in the face of death he was confident and uncomprimising, AND still got away using science and deception. He’s true blue and I loved it. At the end with Fitz banging againts that big old stone, man I felt the pain. It broke my heart, this is not the first time that Iain’s acting caught me emotionally and this is another moment to add to the ‘Fitz Rules’ category.

    As for Simmons, at first I thought “She’s on the moon!”, but then I was like “Wait but there’s no oxygen on the moon.” Then I thought she could be on the main Inhumans home world, but I thought “There’s no way the people behind the show would do that 4 years ahead of the film adaptation. I had a feeling that the Kree liquid rock could be capable of teleportation but I wasn’t sure, but hell I’m happy it didn’t kill my girl Jemma, I love her too much to lose her.

    I hope you’ll check out my review when you’re free dude. 😀

    • Hello again! I’m all about the hype. 😉 I’m excited for the show’s return for sure. I don’t think I could do recaps for every ep like the first season though. 😀 But I’ll definitely check out your posts if you decide to keep doing them.

      I haven’t read any previews or news about this season except that I heard about Secret Warriors. Joey had a cool power, as the season continues I think the Inhumans should be a little bit more inventive on how they use the super powers. So far it’s fun.

      Daisy has a nice new look. When I tried searching for photos to use in the post, quite a few Daisy photos came up but not so much on the others haha. That’s so funny about Sonic the Hedgehog, I’ll have to look for some memes, I’m sure someone has already made them lol.

      Do you think Ward will head up Hydra? Even when Hydra was around he seemed to do his own thing. I’m really interested in Simmon’s story, I hope she doesn’t get saved too soon because I’d like to explore this alien planet more. Oh wow, you thought about the big stone causing teleportation, … that didn’t even cross my mind. Well done!

      Maybe with Coulson they’ll try different attachments to his arm as the season continues. When Simmons comes back let’s hope she comes up with something ultra cool for Coulson’s hand.

      Fitz def. ruled this ep. Another moment from last season I liked is when he confronted Ward in the jail cell. A lot of characters have evolved … let’s see what’s May is up to, Hope this season is a great one!

      • I’m not surprised about Chloe Bennet being all over the place in regards to this episode, she’s one of the main focuses of this show, plus loads of guys LOVE her haha. I am curious about Ward’s situation with Hydra as well, I’m not sure if he’ll be the new head as much as he’ll use those loyal to the organisation for his own means. But I guess we’ll see what happens. Haha I got lucky with my Simmons theory. Like you I hope we get to see mmore of her on the alien world, but I hope they don’t make that last too long like some of the previous mysteries of this show.

        • Haha, yeah guys Loved her even when they Hated her character lol.That’s a good point, I hope they learned their lesson about stretching out mysteries too long. As for Ward, whatever I think might happen the show will probably do something unexpected haha.

  5. Eagerly awaiting the new season of AoS when it starts airing in the UK (hurry up, Channel 4!)…in the meantime I’m rewatching season 1, forgotten how great all that Winter Soldier tie in was!

What do you think?

