Watch Harley Quinn Steal the New “Suicide Squad” Trailer

The new “Suicide Squad” trailer has dropped! My lack of excitement for Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice had been unfairly rubbing off on Suicide Squad. Funny how a trailer and some great posters can change my sentiment around. Consider me hyped!

“I can’t wait to show you my toys.” The trailer has a great balance between bits of dialogue, things exploding and showing off the crazy and freaky members of the squad.

When Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody started playing I wasn’t sure it was going to work but it did. The different segments of the song fit into the different tones of each scene. The piano accompanying the part where Harley talks about the voices in her head was playful which added to the humor. And of course the hard rocking bombast fit perfectly with the action clips.

Suicide Squad Official Movie Posters

Speaking of Harley, I like that Margot Robbie didn’t go overboard with a super thick accent and a high pitched voice. I mean, the voice actresses from the animated shows are so memorable and iconic but for this live action movie it might have been too much of a caricature.

Great marketing. For anyone not knowing much about Suicide Squad this trailer tells us exactly what this movie is going for. Just not sure why Jai Courtney’s character keeps on yelling.

One more thing about Bohemian Rhapsody, I couldn’t help but to think of Wayne’s World. Schwing!

uicide-squad jared leto as the joker

Directed by David Ayer (Fury, End of Watch), Suicide Squad is about a team of DC comic book anti-heroes who are in a secret prison work-release program.

The cast includes Will Smith as Deadshot, Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn, Jared Leto as the Joker, Cara Delevingne as Enchantress, Jai Courtney as Captain Boomerang, Joel Kinnaman as Rick Flagg, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje as Killer Croc, Adam Beach as Slipknot, Jay Hernandez as El Diablo, Karen Fukuhara as Katana and Viola Davis as Amanda Waller. 

Suicide Squad is set to be released on August 5th, 2016.

What do you think about the new “Suicide Squad” trailer and posters? Are you feeling Margot Robbie’s take on Harley Quinn?

About Eddie@Jaccendo

Movies, TV shows, comics, and video game news & review.

Posted on January 19, 2016, in Comics, Movies, Preview and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. “My lack of excitement for Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice had been unfairly rubbing off on Suicide Squad.”–That’s pretty much what I’ve also been feeling. But I like how Suicide Squad seems quirky and different, and I’m optimistic for this one.

  2. I’m more interested in this than Batman v Superman. I think Margot Robbie looks great as Harley Quinn and as she can actually act I have high hopes for Harley Quinn being the stand out character.

    • Suicide Squad looks like a lot fun and laughs and some craziness. Yeah, I’m more interested in this than BvS, which I’ll still see and maybe it’ll win me over. Robbie looks like a great pick for Harley Quinn, she showed she could be funny.

  3. I’m digging the tone and feel of the film so far, looks like it’ll be fun.

  4. Hey man, how’s going yo? I saw the trailer earlier on today and I thought it was pretty pretty good. Not a mind-blowing trailer, but definitely something that was fun, stylish and had a lot of cool moments showing off the characters that weren’t shown as much as before like Enchantress, Boomerang and Rick Flag. But Robbie as Harley just stole the show, she was so cute, funny and strange, I love her already and I feel like she’ll kill it in this role. As for Jared Leto, I still haven’t seen enough of his Joker to make an assessment yet, though it seems like he’ll be good in the role.

    • Hey there, I’ve been doing pretty good. Hope you’ve been well! I’m glad to hear your thoughts on Robbie as Harley, I wasn’t sure if I was alone in liking her a lot in this role. To me she’s the most memorable Squad member in this trailer which showed her off. There wasn’t much of Joker which I think is a good idea, we’ll probably see more in the trailers closer to the film’s release. Cool to see the other characters too and I’m liking the crazy fun vibe.

  5. This film will be huge! Robbie will steal the show! I have no doubts about that.

  6. vaderdarth1230

    Wow, that was a great review!
    I’ve been working on a review of Suicide Squad myself (post- release), and I just wanted to mention that I’ve linked this review of yours along with mine, for my viewers to check out this fantastic site! I would be pleased if you checked my blog out 🙂
    XOXO

  1. Pingback: Suicide Squad: Movie Review – vaderdarth1230

What do you think?

