The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 15 “Us” Review

The-Walking-Dead-Season-4-Episode-15

A group of survivors reunite and arrive at the Terminus. Meanwhile, Daryl is at odds with his new group.

Continue reading for a spoiler filled recap and reaction to The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 15 entitled “Us”.

Us

The Walking Dead’s penultimate episode of what has been a half season of fragmented narratives, focuses on the formation of a larger collective, or in the case of Daryl, bringing him into the fold with his band of not-so merry men. As somewhat disjointed as some story lines, particularly the lone scene with Rick’s group, may have initially appeared, the stories interlocked in a way that paints a bigger picture of how the finale might shakedown. Hot on the trail of Rick, the “Claimers” are set up as hostile adversaries when they inevitably will arrive at the Terminus’ front gates with Daryl presumably caught in a compromising position by having to terminate his current gang in favor of his former group of survivors.

After the roller coaster ride that was “The Grove”, this week’s episode, which served to lay the groundwork for the finale, took a step back in terms of ratcheting up the intensity one would expect from a penultimate episode. And while many of the survivors reached the end of the line ie. the Terminus, “Us” oddly did not deliver a deep sense of satisfaction. Glenn and Maggie fans may feel otherwise, but even their reunion is underwhelming despite the anticipatory build up over many episodes. This is not to say, “Us” is a complete let down but that the true pay off of all the character development and the reveal of what the Terminus actually is may be reserved for the season finale.

The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 15 Stream

The Light At The End Of The Tunnel

Glenn’s hope for reuniting with Maggie makes him reckless as does Tara’s guilt for her role in separating them at the prison. It’s a shared remorse that keeps Tara and Abraham up at night. While Tara’s guilt is alleviated when Maggie and Glenn are reunited, it’s not so simple for Abraham to wipe his moral ledger clean.

Glenn felt responsible Tara life’s, but I did feel a bit of a disconnect that after desperately searching for Maggie at all costs, he would sacrifice himself and any chances of a reunion in order to save Tara. Chalk it up to his growth in character or perhaps Glenn choosing to lose his life rather than to lose his humanity. After Tara gets saved, Glenn continues to protect her by saying he met her on the road, not at the prison. Will this seemingly harmless white lie, put a wedge in between Maggie and Glenn if she finds out the truth, after all Tara did play a role in the events that led to Hershel’s death? Does the photograph of Maggie burnt up foreshadow what happens to their relationship?

Outdoor Cat Who Think He’s An Indoor Cat

Daryl’s segment is the strongest, in part because he’s the most intriguing character on the show but also because he’s consistently written. Rarely, if ever I do a question why Daryl makes an odd decisions that feels out of character. Another reason is that as man of very few words, Daryl speaks with his actions.

The scene with Carl and Michonne sharing a candy bar is contrasted with how Daryl’s new crew operates. At first, Daryl is reluctant to play by anybody else’s rules but he’s staying with the “Claimers” until a better opportunity presents itself. I do think by the end Daryl believes the rules are fair and simple: don’t lie and it’s rightfully yours if you’ve claimed it.

Unlike many of the prison group survivors, Daryl has a huge chip on his shoulders – that finger on the trigger mentality that can’t truly be domesticated. As disreputable as “The Claimers” may be, they might be a better fit for Daryl than he’d like to admit though he’d toss them aside for Rick’s group in a second.

Welcome To The Terminus

So the survivors finally make it to the Terminus and as a viewer I’m left with many puzzling questions. Woodbury had a fortress of walls and guards, but why does the Terminus have no locks at the gates or anybody on patrol? Do they not worry that a swarm of walkers could easily bust down those fences? Judging by all the flowers and vegetables, the inhabitants have been there for some time but why is there only one woman in the courtyard? Mary (Denise Crosby) is oddly welcoming to armed strangers without even questioning them. If our survivors get lulled into a false sense of security, it may not end well for them.

At this point in the season, “Us” fell short of my expectations, especially after last week’s pivotal episode. The Terminus reveal is a little anticlimactic though there is potential for some great twists and turns. Daryl’s story line as expected carried this episode though we got no word on what happened to poor Beth. While I was somewhat entertained with Glenn’s story, his reunion with Maggie was not as emotionally uplifting as was likely intended. Lastly, Rick’s story line felt under serviced in the latter half of the season and in particular this episode. Many of my comments are not exactly positive, I still have hopes that the finale can pull it off.

Did you feel emotional when Glenn reunited with Maggie? What do you think about the Terminus?

More Posts You Might Like:

The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 14 “The Grove” Review

The Walking Dead Season 4 Episode 13 “Alone” Review

About Sidekick Reviews

Movies, TV shows, comics, and video game news & review.

Posted on March 24, 2014, in Television, The Walking Dead and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. Very good episode, although it definitely has me weary of what to expect from the next episode. Doesn’t seem like there’s all that much more development going on for any other character’s other than Carl, Rick and Micchone, and maybe even some of Daryl. Oh well, who knows? The show may pull another trick underneath us. Good review.

    • With the reunion and reaching the Terminus, there’s a feeling of hope that I think will be short lived by the end of next episode. As for the characters, I would hope Rick will take back the lead role with Daryl getting some good scenes too. But it’s really hard to predict, especially with the Terminus being a big question mark. Thanks!

  2. I really enjoyed the episode and I wasn’t disappointed w/ Terminus at all. Terminus seems to be more concerned by humans with guns than zombies. And we learned from both of the large camps that got destroyed (Woodbury and the prison) and also from little lizzie that the thing to fear is not the mindless eating machine that is INFINITELY predictable but humans who are not. The sign said lower your weapons and you will be met and once they lowered them they were, but I feel they may have to give up their weapons to get inside. (I think Beth may also be there, judging by that god-awful music they played as they walked up. (Music choices have been sorely lacking this season) But the religious music makes me think that these are the same people. I also like the juxtaposition of the extreme masculinity and aggression of the bad guys with the seemingly more feminine and calming of Terminus. At least I hope so. The other thing I thought was that the “claimed” rule could come into play when they catch up with Beth and one of them claims her. They’ve already established that those guys are rapey. I really liked that Glenn finally was unable to leave Tara to die and I liked that the both groups were there in the end. That tunnel was awesome and scary And finally the weird guy who is supposed to save the world was right about something giving me a bit more faith in him. Excited for an exciting finale. I didn’t watch the previews from next week. I never do. Also I usually watch last weeks episode before the new one (because it’s like a movie where I know the first half) but I didn’t want to see last week’s episode again because it was absolutely a stand-alone and it was too damn dark..

    • I think this episode is to set up the questions surrounding Terminus, with some more concentrate answers in the finale. I totally agree that the greatest threat in the zombie apocalypse are the humans as evident in Woodbury and the prison like you said. Good call that Beth may be there, it certainly would tie everything together. Since the funeral parlour is a trap then I can only imagine that the Terminus is a more elaborate, bigger version of the trap. I didn’t mind so much the music this time, it felt soothing which made the Terminus feel too good to be true.

      I was also thinking the “don’t lie and claimed rule” will come into play. Let’s hope Daryl gets dibs on Beth … in order to protect her, but if not he’ll have to break the rules. I wish we got an earlier scene with Glenn and Tara before that tunnel part but yeah it was cool how they were both saved by the united groups. I still don’t trust Eugene, there’s something fishy about him. I didn’t watch next week preview either, I just know that Rick is in it. Last week’s was depressing, I didn’t feel like re-watching it either. Great discussing with you as always!

      • The group kept yelling at Glenn that he’s going to get Tara killed. That she feels so guilty that she will follow him into hell. He never replies to them but he obviously heard them and right then when leaving her to keep going meant she would die, he decided to stop being a dick and I think he finally forgave her.

        • Yeah, Glenn had little regard for her well being until her foot got caught. Man I can’t believe there’s only one episode left!

          • It reminds me (a little) of the stories of people falling from heights. Climbers or jumpers or construction workers. Where a second person reaches out and grabs them and gets pulled over as well. They found out that the second person isn’t really pulled over by the first because all they have to do is just let go of them when they feel themselves falling. But that never happens because once they’ve caught the person it never even occurs to them that they could let them go to save themselves. It is not even an option. They become one person.

            Just one more episode left (I’m starting to think that Terminus will be next seasons story-line because they wrapped Carol, they wrapped Glenn, they wrapped Maggie, so I feel they will just wrap up Rick & Daryl and end the season. I don’t know) but Game of Thrones starts the following week. So yeah.

            • That reminds me a scene from This Is The End where they spoof action films where one guy is hanging on an edge and he offers to helps lift up another guy with his free hand …. anyways, your explanation does help to understand why Glenn stayed with her but he was really lucky to be alive.

              I’m liking the leader of the Claimers, I hope he sticks around but I I’d imagine there going to be a lot of blood shed next episode. Yeah, the show doesn’t move as fast as the comics, I can see it ended on a twist about the Terminus that will be explored next season. Great timing this year, I think last year TWD finale and GoT premiere were on the same night.

  3. While it moved the story along, which is more than I can say for some previous episodes in this half, I thought it was a terribly forgetful episode. Glenn and Maggie’s reunion is pretty plane-jane. I can understand why he might protect Tara’s identity in front of Sasha and Bob, but I feel like he would be comfortable, and even feel obligated, to tell Maggie who she really is. That could easily come back to bite him. I don’t think Tara is totally over her guilt despite Glenn and Maggie reuniting.

    Terminus. While it answered very little for both the fans, and the characters, I feel like that’s exactly how the writers want it. A handful of people I work with also watch the show and just about all of them suspect cannibalism at Terminus. Tough to argue with.

    Daryl. I don’t like where they’re headed with him in that group. He seems to be warming up to the leader (haven’t caught his name) and seeing some logic in their way of doing things. I still believe at this point he would favor Rick’s group, but I could definitely see him slowly molding into that group. They have a stronger leader than Daryl has seen in a while and he gravitates to that.

    Finally, I didn’t mind a few episodes without checking in on Rick & Co., but with that lame scene as the only screentime in the last 5 weeks… c’mon! Although I guess it speaks for the strength of the show that it can still produce good (mostly) material with it’s lead character being MIA for most of a half of a season.

    • There are some episodes where the wheels are spinning but I liked that we got some story development in this episode. It’s not a memorable one for me either, but serviceable with some good moments. I feel pretty much the same about Glenn and Maggie’s reunion, having said that I’m a fan of each character as individuals and the actress who plays Maggie. Protecting Tara’s identity could be setting up another forced drama between the couple, something that holds me back from completely investing in them. I was prepared to say goodbye to Tara this episode when her foot got trapped, but I’m starting to like her more so it’ll be hard to see her die … in the finale?

      I would love cannibalism at Terminus hehe, it would be similar to a story line in the TWD video game. It would be chilling if Tryeese and Carol arrived there first, got killed and now their meat was served to the new arrivals. 🙂

      Good point, Daryl is warming up to the leader, I think he’s treated Daryl quite fairly but it could get twisted in a hurry. I liked that scene where Daryl is about to cover up the dead body of the bully but then decides not to. He could mould into his new group, that’s why I think he needs someone like Beth to remind him there’s another way.

      I liked the brief scene between Rick and co. but little did I know that would be the last of them in the episode. Kind of odd. I guess the show can go on without Rick but since I’m invested in his journey from the very beginning it wouldn’t feel the same without him. Thanks so much for checking out the review and commenting!

  4. Sorry I can’t contribute anything here as I don’t watch the series, but great job on keeping up w/ the TV reviews! I’d love it if you’d do more reviews of Almost Human, I’m still interesting in catching up to that show at some point 😀

    • Thanks! No worries about not contributing, I totally appreciate you checking in and commenting:) I hope to post more movie related stuff in the near future. I still need to catch up on Almost Human myself, I might do a season review if I feel inspired. 🙂

  5. Great write up. Still think that army guy with the ginger flat top looks like something out of a videogame beat ’em up, rather than a real character. As for the Maggie & Glen reunion, I feel they could have dragged that out further all the way to Terminus, before they met up again. Or maybe not, knowing how the programme falls foul of dragging out story lines.

    I feel I’m actually more scared of the new, happy, smiley Michonne. After God knows how many episodes of being totally glum, the character transformation seems a bit too swift.

  6. Great review. feel similarly to you on this one. I liked bits and pieces of it, but feels like a fairly big drop off after last week’s which was excellent. I feel like the finale has the potential to be pretty exciting though. Hoping they end the season with a bang!

    • A fairly big drop off is a good way to describe it, though like you I did like parts here and there. The mid-season finale was great, so this finale has a lot to live up to. I really hope they can pull off something amazing. Yeah, let’s end it with a bang, not a whimper!

  7. That end was so damn creepy! This was a good episode and Terminus will be weird 😀

  8. Blah. That’s how I felt about this episode. Agree with your review. Daryl’s storyline was the most interesting. Terminus is suspect so far and wonder where they’ll go with it. Lots of speculation that there will be cannibals. I guess we’ll find out on Sunday.

    • I had high expectations going into this episode but it didn’t do enough for me either. On the bright side, the story is set up for a possibly interesting finale. I’m expecting a full reunion, learning what happened to Beth and some resolution on Daryl’s story line. I wonder though if it’ll end on a cliffhanger about what the Terminus actually is. Cannibals … yeah, I noticed they did have a huge flaming grill, perfect for roasting meat! We’ll see.

  9. “Does the photograph of Maggie burnt up foreshadow what happens to their relationship?”
    I had a bad feeling after she did that. Having a photo of herself burnt because Glenn and her will be together from now on is pretty ominous. I hope its just one big misdirection…

    As for Terminus…creepy much? For a supposedly great place, where was everyone? Why would they leave everything unlocked? Strange…

    I’m bracing myself for some unfortunate deaths. Hopefully it’s none of my favs!

    • Yeah I also got a bad vibe when she burnt up the photo and said they’d be together from now on. Maggie is one of my favorite characters, I hope it’s misdirection too.

      I can’t wait to find out more about the Terminus. It is creepy, I hope the survivors pick up on all the weird stuff going on. I get the feeling we’re going to say bye to at least one or more of them, it’s going to get bloody! 🙂

  1. Pingback: The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (03/22/14-03/28/14) | The Speech Bubble

What do you think?