Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 1, Episode 14: “T.A.H.I.T.I.” Review

Bill-Paxton-SHIELD

In “T.A.H.I.T.I.” Bill Paxton (Aliens, Titanic) joins the cast of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. as the team races to save Skye’s life.

Continue reading for a spoiler filled review of Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 1, Episode 14.

Let’s Discuss What Happened!

T.A.H.I.T.I.: After arguably the best back to back episodes to date, the extended hiatus during the Winter Olympics put the series’ momentum in full stop. Showing little signs of rust a full month later, T.A.H.I.T.I. picks up right where T.R.A.C.K.S. left off. Aside from some on-going issues, it’s another entertaining hour of television.

There Are Always Secrets: Because the show doesn’t build upon it’s own mythology enough, I liked how saving Skye’s life involved unravelling a part of the mystery behind Coulson’s resurrection. We got some info on where Coulson was operated on and in the process it leads to more questions, specifically what is that blue alien severed body in the tank and how will it’s blood affect Skye? I’m actually intrigued whereas the unanswered questions in “That Magical Place”, left me somewhat dissatisfied.

How’s The Drive From Istanbul?: When Ian Quinn shot Skye in the gut it was cruel to let her bleed out in agony instead of killing her instantly and uncharacteristic of this uppity billionaire businessman to do the dirty work himself. Since shooting Skye is revealed to be part of the Clairvoyant’s master plan, is it possible the Clairvoyant also engineered Quinn and Raina to be held in custody within S.H.I.E.L.D.’s base, sort of like a trojan horse?

Pretty Please It Is: The introduction of both John Garrett (Bill Paxton) and Antoine Triplett (B.J. Britt) initially set up a confrontation but I’m glad they were already long time friends with some of our agents and in turn were able to work together. It would be pretty awesome if Paxton becomes a regular on the show. He had the most amusing dialogue and even when he’s rough around the edges, the way Paxton delivered his lines kept him very likeable.

Triplett is taking a shine to Simmons. When it comes to relationships, the show doesn’t always do what’s expected so I’m interested in how the writers will develop this potential storyline or maybe they’ll just become close friends with a lot tension between them?

AGENTS OF SHIELD SEASON 1 EPISODE 14

Spirits In The Skye: If there is a reoccurring false note that is evident in this episode, it’s the supposed bond between Skye and her team mates. When Agent Coulson tells the doctor, “We’re her family”, a line I could see coming, or Simmons unable to imagine her life without Skye, it felt a little disingenuous. This is not a knock against the chemistry between the actors which I actually like, it has to do with show’s writing and handling of Skye. And when Skye’s name is brought up every time something needs to be hacked, it comes across as “this is our way of telling you she’s important to the team”.

To save Skye, Coulson risked letting the Clairvoyant see how he came back from the dead. But it’s kind of an interesting character perspective that Coulson would rather let Skye die than make her go through what he experienced.

The Wrap Up

Once the team made it to the GH mountain base, this episode kicked into another gear with a good mix of action and mystery. The introduction of Agent Garrett injected a fresh energy and he had good chemistry with everyone he interacted with. Whether the darker tone and less humour is a change in direction for the rest of the season or it’s just the producers still trying to find the right balance remains to be seen. Overall, T.A.H.I.T.I. is a good episode and the end teaser sets up what hopefully will be a fun hour with Lady Sif next week.

What did you like or dislike about this episode? Are you looking forward to Jaime Alexander’s Lady Sif next episode?

More Posts You Might Like:

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 1, Episode 13 “T.R.A.C.K.S.” Review

Guardians Of The Galaxy: What You Need To Know About The Movie

About Sidekick Reviews

Movies, TV shows, comics, and video game news & review.

Posted on March 5, 2014, in Marvel's Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D., Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I watched Shield again after missing few episodes and to my surprise I didn’t miss a thing. I don’t really enjoy this episode. Beside seeing Agent May beating the hell out of Ian Quinn, this episode offer nothing more. I am interested to see who is the woman at the end of the episode though.

    • Gotta luv Agent May turning Quinn into her personal punching bag. This episode is sort of like the second part of a two part episode, it’s weird there was a month gap in between airings. Hopefully the next episode featuring a special guest star will be better for you. Thanks so much for commenting!

      • Haha Agent May is such a bad ass character. I really hope the show will stay, I like the idea of Agent of Shield 🙂

  2. This was my favorite episode so far. Which is interesting because last week was my favorite episode up to that point. We’re finally getting some pay-off. The character introduction phase is over & character development and their evolutions have started. I disagree wholeheartedly about the team feeling like a family. They’ve only been together two months (I think that’s what she said) but those two months have been spent on a plane or in a foxhole. That is more than enough time to want to take a bullet or give them a kidney or to feel that if they die then so do you. Two months is a lifetime. Loved the special effects shots as always. Loved the scene where they inject Skye and the alien DNA takes her body to extremes and then finds the optimum temp and blood pressure. I’m starting to think that there are thousands of people that the Clairvoyant controls and can see through their eyes and that’s why he or she (they always say he) seems to be clairvoyant.

    By the way that wasn’t Sif. That was Lorelei. She’s a bad guy and a seductress..

    “Lorelei is the younger sister of the sorceress, Amora the Enchantress. The two sisters share an interest in using their beauty and wiles to dominate any male that either desires. However, unlike Amora, Lorelei has had no interest in mastering sorcery apart from learning certain skills to aid her in her amatory pursuits. Both sisters are natives of Asgard.”

    I’m liking it. I hope people come back so they can justify more cool effects and a large effects budget.

    • I liked this episode too, it’s a good follow up to T.R.A.C.K.S. I also like how one episode leads into the next, it makes for a more streamline and engaging story to invest in. The early part of the season is spent establishing the characters so it’s good to see it’s starting to pay-off. One of my favorite make-shift TV families is Firefly. It’s odd that even when the Firefly crew is at each other’s throats, bickering or laughing at each other they still come across as a tight bunch. Some of it has to do with the actors being instant best friends on the set and some of it is empathizing with the characters as they struggle to look for a job or just sitting around the dinner table together. It felt grounded and real to me. I hope to get that same feeling of camaraderie with the Agents at some point. I can’t wait to find out what kind of side effects that alien DNA might have on Skye, it was a cool moment as she convulsed, then surprise Coulson that she survived. I like your theory on the Clairvoyant, it’s makes sense and I was actually thinking the same thing. Yeah, I know it wasn’t Sif at the end I just meant that the teaser sets up the reason for her to come to Midgard as seen in the promos. I love that description of Lorelei, her powers can lead to some funny and warped situations. I totally agree, I hope people give this show a chance again and let’s bring on the cool special effects! Thanks so much for commenting, great discussing the show with you! 🙂

      • Sorry. I never watch teasers for upcoming episodes. They will never make me want to watch something I wasn’t going to watch they could only turn me off to it. And seeing images always gives away the plot for me which I cannot stand. I haven’t watched a Next Week’s Episode Teaser since the invention of the DVR. The thing about the serenity crew is they had a lot of back story with each other and were already a tight knit group. Having spent time in foxholes together and on the ship before we ever meet them. With S.H.I.E.L.D. (sometimes you just have to place the periods) their first day is our first day. Maybe that’s what people didn’t like. The lack of trust in the first few episodes. Not knowing what each other’s strengths and weaknesses were and not trusting them to watch their back. I think we’re done with that. These last two episodes put an end to that whole phase. But yeah we meet them as they meet each other while on Firefly they were a family before we came along.

  3. Haven’t seen this episode yet, looking forward to seeing it!

  4. I hope Simmons gets pursued by Agent Triplett and Fitz. Smart and sweet lab geek love interest? I would dig it. If Ward dumps May for Skye I’m gonna go all Hulk-Smash… they’ve actually been doing the unexpected with the relationships, so maybe that won’t happen.

    • Awww, wouldn’t it be sweet seeing lab geek Simmons falling head over heels for Agent Triplett? It was cool how the writers tossed aside Ward and Skye storyline and threw us a curveball with Ward and May. I like how they’re not going down a predictable path, I hope that continues.

  5. Howdy man, since you gave me some comment love, thought I’d return the favour as usual 🙂

    So yeah to elaborate on your points that said before. I like how you mention how the Clairvoyant could be potentially planning for his people to be captured just to eventually spring into action and possibly take out S.H.I.E.L.D. from the inside. That would be some really epic and calculated planning. I also hope that there is some form or relationship or sexual tension between Simmons and Triplett. Also I agree with what you said about Skye and her connection to the team, it felt a little forced and to be fair the closest people that she’s tied to is Coulson, Ward and Simmons to a degree.

    I think if this episode had aired the week after T.R.A.C.K.S. it would have really kept the momentum up and kept te show in good spirits. The show is already fighting an uphill battle and the bloody winter olympics didn’t help much. Luckily I think the show has enough a fanbase to carry it through along with hype surrounding the show along with its connection to Captain America 2 as well. I just hope the pay-off is worth the wait.

    Nice write-up as always. 🙂

    • Howdy to you too! I always appreciate you taking the time to comment, it means a lot! 🙂

      Edison Po was locked away in the prison but it turned out that he could break out any time the Clairvoyant wanted. I guess it’s possible that the other captured people could spring into action when needed to. I’m also guessing we haven’t seen the last of Raina and Quinn. I’m liking Triplett so far, it’ll be cool to see more of him with Simmons. The interesting thing about chemistry between characters, whether it’s a buddy cop, family or romantic relationship etc on any TV show, it’s that some will feel the connection while for others it’s a work in progress. I just happen to feel there is room for Skye to build on her connection with her “family”. 🙂

      I totally agree this would have made for a great back to back episode and keep the momentum going. I believe this episode has the lowest rating so far, maybe people forgot it was back on? I know I forgot that Arrow came back the other week after the Olympics. I’m so excited for Cap 2, it’ll be cool to see this other side to SHIELD and how it’ll affect our agents. Thanks again for the kinds words!

  6. Bill Paxton has really not aged well. Is his super power looking really old?

  7. I thought this was another solid episode and helped to fix some of the issues fans have been having with the show. Up till now, the show hasn’t felt really “high stakes” with a dramatic sense of danger or threat to the characters. I thought this episode and the one before it upped the ante. I also like how the Clairvoyant is becoming an overarching plot line. I felt the show was missing a compelling overarching plot line at first, and I think the Clairvoyant is an interesting concept to pursue.

    I also like how they are re-opening the mystery about what really happened to Agent Coulson. I thought the supposed “big reveal” earlier this season was a little bit of a letdown, but now I’m thinking we really haven’t learned the complete truth about what happened to him. I like the continuing sense of mystery and suspense.

    Bill Paxton was a fun addition to the show, I enjoyed the banter between his character and Coulson. I hope he shows up again.

    • I also thought this was a solid episode. I enjoyed it quite a bit especially when they got to the guest house. With Skye’s life on the line and the mountain base rigged to explode, the show upped the ante which is nice to see, even though I’m pretty sure she’d survive. I feel the same way about an overarching story which this show needs and now has. Without revealing the Clairvoyant, the show has still managed to make him or her quite interesting.

      I also felt underwhelmed with the supposed “big reveal”. It’s good to know there is a lot more to the mystery that’s starting to unravel again. I like that they are tying in the mystery of the resurrection with the Clairvoyant and now with Skye since she got injected.

      I’m liking Bill Paxton’s character, he’s quite funny. He also banters well with Coulson and just about everyone so far. If I heard correctly, Paxton is signed on for multiple episodes so he’ll back sooner than later. 🙂

  8. Paxton was awesome as always, but what the hell was that creature in the chamber? An Atlantean?
    And why haven’t there been repercussions from this mission? Two guards are DEAD and facility has been blown to bits and yet… nothing.
    This show makes my brain ache.

  9. Bill Paxton is what I enjoyed most from this episode. He’s one of those actors who is always entertaining to watch, as he has this laid-back vibe and brings an element of fun and a little comedy to his roles. A nice contrast to Coulson which makes their scenes together interesting. It was also satisfying to see May kick Quinn’s ass, and I also enjoyed the fight scene between Ward and Triplett.

    • Paxton is a fun addition to the cast and he has some of the best lines. He’s a fairly big name actor compared to some of the other actors, perhaps some of his fans checked out the show just because he’s guest starring. His character has pretty good chemistry with the others. I also liked May going crazy on Quinn and it was funny when Garrett threatened to rip out Quinn’s tongue haha.

  1. Pingback: TV Review: Agents of SHIELD, “T.A.H.I.T.I” (S1/EP14) – So, The Guy From Prometheus Saved Coulson? | We Minored In Film

  2. Pingback: The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (03/01/14-03/07/14) | The Speech Bubble

What do you think?